Deploying Rails with Twitter Bootstrap on Heroku

Lately I’ve been playing with deploying a Rails application to Heroku. A most pleasurable experience but I’ve had some issues with Twitter Bootstrap. The reason is that Heroku discourages the usage of therubyracer gem, see https://devcenter.heroku.com/articles/rails3x-asset-pipeline-cedar#therubyracer for details. In my development environment I used the twitter-bootstrap-rails gem and I wanted to keep using it along with the less support. There are some other non less solutions, as described at the Ruby Source here, but that didn’t seem appealing. So, the only solution I could find was to precompile the assets and push them to Heroku. Aside from that, there were a few more issues to resolve:

  • Use of the helper bootstrap_flash doesn’t work when precompiling assets – the solution was to copy the helper to my Rails project, as described here
  • To be able to continue to use therubyracer gem in development, I had to move it to development group in Gemfile

Now, the procedure is pretty simple, just precompile the assets and push to Heroku and that’s it? Well, almost 🙂

I wanted also to be able to not use the precompiled assets in development, since this requires a bit of manual work (one needs to precompile for each run) and at the same time I didn’t want to forget precompiling them before pushing to Heroku. Hence, I put together a small shell script that:

  • creates a separate branch from the current one
  • precompiles the assets
  • pushes that branch to Heroku – it needs to be pushed to master
  • deletes the new branch

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

